Using states, like California, when one owns a judgment caused by a car accident; one can sometimes apply with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), to get their judgment debtor’s driver’s license suspended, until they satisfy their judgment.
This article is my opinion, and not legal advice. I’m a judgment broker, and am not a lawyer. In the event that you ever need any legal services or a technique to make use of, please contact a lawyer.
A judgment debtor’s drivers license suspension can only just be attempted if the reason for action for the IRISH FAKE ID judgment involved a car accident, once the damages are above a particular amount. In California, the laws state that the driver’s license for the registered vehicle owner, and the driver, can be suspended for six years; or before judgment is satisfied.
In California, you’d utilize the DL-30 form. Other states have different form names and procedures. As a judgment owner, you complete the form yourself. To get their driver’s license back, the judgment debtor will have to settle or satisfy the judgment. Make sure you provide the right address for the judgment debtor, to insure they will get notified. Exactly that DMV notification of your DL-30 request, might get your debtor to be in with you.
You will get the DL-30 from the DMV’s website. Complete the form, and take it to your court, and pay them about $37.50. The court signs the DL-30 form, and attaches a professional copy of the judgment; and then stamps the DL-30 form. You then mail that off to the DMV, the address is on the DL-30 form; along with another $20 check to them. If you should be wanting to suspend the driver’s license of the registered owner of the car, and see your face is distinctive from the driver; you will also have to submit proof of vehicle ownership (registration printout) to the DMV.
In the usa which allow this sort of judgment recovery attempt, each has their particular laws. IRISH FAKE ID In California, the DL-30 form must be used within 3 years of having the vehicle-related judgment, or within 3 years of the judgment’s renewal. Listed here are five possible glitches, when asking the motor vehicle department to suspend your judgment debtor’s drivers license, for unsatisfied a car accident-related judgment:
1) Some judgment debtors don’t care about their driver’s license getting revoked, and some keep on driving against what the law states; others let somebody else drive them around. And, because this tactic doesn’t directly force the debtor to cover you, this may be one of those things that sounds better theoretically, compared to the results it brings. One judgment recovery rule is, don’t do items to interfere along with your debtor earning money, at the least and soon you are repaid. Only the judgment debtor’s available assets might be levied to satisfy your judgment.
2) Some courts are sympathetic if the debtor files an issue with the court, claiming they have to drive due to their job, or even to take their mother to a healthcare facility, etc.
3) Most motor vehicle departments have a low priority for doing this. Normally it takes 6 months for the DMV to suspend the driver’s license of your debtor after your DL-30 form is provided for them.
4) You will need to ask the court how to complete the form. Even though the DL-30 form says the court is designed to fill a lot of the form out, most courts allow you to do this yourself, except for the tiny section for the court’s authorizing signature and date stamp.
5) If your judgment debtor files for bankruptcy protection, you cannot start any new actions to suspend their driver’s license, without first getting written permission from the bankruptcy court. If you have already had the debtor’s driver’s license suspended, before their bankruptcy filing; the debtor, upon an effective bankruptcy; features a right to get their license re-instated. The debtor must provide a professional copy of the bankruptcy discharge order to the DMV, to get their license suspension lifted.